RSS

3D origami swan pot

13 Apr

This particular project was started back in the first semester, when I had bought a large pack of white paper. I started making 3D units for the heck of it, and then thought it would make a nice swan. I’m made a stick-tailed peacock before and a phoenix, but not a plain old swan, funnily enough!

The general shape of the swan is up to you. For my own, I made the neck longer that the wings. I couldn’t quite shape the wings out well because I was gluing the pieces as I went along; it may be taboo to you, but it’ll hold together much better for me!

Don’t forget the orange and black piece to make the beak of the swan. 🙂

P1010210Now obviously, these pots tend to be hollow on the inside. If you want to transform it into a makeshift pot, cut out a circle that is slightly bigger than the very bottom of the base, then slip it through from the top and gently push the sides down to hold it in place.

P1010211Of course, this part is totally optional, but sometimes I like a little functionality in my decorations! Now my dear swan holds my pens and pencils for me. And because the wings are so close together, it kind of fans out the pens so it organises my collection pretty well, haha.

P1010212Another optional part, because I had a lot of leftover pieces to use up. I connected them all to make a ring for my swan to sit on top of. It’s only purpose really is to keep the base of the swan from pushing down too much. Quite often I’d find that the bottom row of the base tends to look different because it’s been pushed down too much. Well anyway, it just looks nice, haha.

P1010213Now just position your lovely swan on top of the ring. The total count of pieces used is 634 units!

P1010215Materials: 634 3D units (632 white, 1 orange, 1 black), PVA glue

(Reblogged from Atelier Ilyere)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2014 in Origami Animals

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “3D origami swan pot

  1. lazarioana

    April 13, 2014 at 16:16

    wow this is awesome! 😀 nice! i’m so glad you started posting again I was feeling lonely

     
    • Ilyere

      April 16, 2014 at 02:28

      Sorry I haven’t been very active! But my final term doesn’t have as much work 😀

       

Leave a comment

 
Learn 2 Origami - Origami & Paper Craft

Learn how to make beautiful things from paper!

Painting Wings

If you can't fly, I'll paint you wings!

Mirving123

Final Fantasy Music, Gaming, Discussions, Quotes and more

Learn 2 Diet - Healthy mind and body

Based on personal experience

Lucky XIII Creations

where imagination runs free

atlantishybrid

Just another WordPress.com site

Ninjatoes' papercraft webpage

Free papercrafts from one fan to the other. Have fun building!

Casa cu perusi

un blog pentru peruşi şi pentru cei care îi iubesc

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

Meanderings Abound

Musings and more

Atelier Ilyere

My cosy crafting corner

shishirguptaforyou

Just another WordPress.com site

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

StageRite

Home Staging "One Stop,SHOP!"

TheLittleDesignStall

My Own Little Interior Heaven